Breaking News: Atiku wins PDP presidential ticket after defeating Wike, Saraki, 11 other Aspirants in primary




Former Vice President Abubakar Atiku has defeated River State Governor, Nyesom Wike, Former Senate President Bukola Saraki and other 11 Peoples Democratic Party Presidential Aspirants to clinch Party’s Ticket.

Newssphere gathered that Atiku garnered 371 delegates votes against closest rival, Wike with 237 delegates votes.

Other aspirants with the number of votes polled include Bukola Saraki – 70; Sam Ohuanbunwa – 1; Anyim Pius Anyim – 14; Udom Emmanuel – 38 votes; Bala Mohammed – 20.

Earlier the Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal, had withdrawn from the presidential race and had given his support to the former Vice President.

Atiku had in 1993, contested the Social Democratic Party presidential primary, losing to Moshood Abiola and Baba Gana Kingibe.

He was a presidential candidate of the Action Congress in the 2007 presidential election coming in third to Umaru Yar’Adua of the PDP and Muhammadu Buhari of the ANPP.

He contested the presidential primary of the Peoples Democratic Party during the 2011 presidential election losing out to incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan.

In 2014, he joined the All Progressives Congress ahead of the 2015 presidential election and contested the presidential primary and lost to Muhammadu Buhari.

In 2017, he returned to the Peoples Democratic Party and was the party’s presidential candidate during the 2019 presidential election, again losing to incumbent President Muhammadu Buhari.




More to come!